Love a lot……Live a lot……..Laugh a lot

I can’t for the life of me figure out why I was in such a hurry to grow up. Still to this day can’t figure out what being grown up really is. Does it mean we have to stop having imaginations or having fun? I can say one thing for sure being this so-called grown-up isn’t that much fun. Half of that has to do with all of the responsibilities we take on as so-called grown-ups, and the other half is our own damn fault. (Pardon my language)

I think we take the fun out of our own lives, we squash our own dreams, and basically live the mundane lives we feel we have to. We even forget to enjoy the little things that make life worth living. I recently (being today) picked up a new book called “THE BOOK OF AWESOME” by Neil Pasricha, also the author of the website 1000awesomethings.com. He talks about the simple things that not only bring a smile to your face when you stop and think about it, but also reduce the stress in our lives. He talks about the simple things like getting all of the laundry from the washer to the dryer without dropping anything, hot nights when you can’t sleep, tossing, turning, kicking the covers damn near to the floor, and then their’s that simple thing of flipping your pillow over. It’s cool and refreshing, even relaxing. It’s these simple little things that we take for granted. Just like laughing.

When was the last time you laughed so hard you were crying, had a tummy ache, and the next day your jaw was sore from smiling so much?

When was the last time you really lived? I’m not just talking about your daily wake up, same old boring routine, that you could probably do in your sleep! I mean really got out there and lived for you and for the moment?

Last, but certainly important, when was the last time you really loved? Loved yourself, your friends, family, boyfriend/girlfriend? I know this all seems like little stuff, in all actuality these are the biggest and most important things in your life. Don’t take them or yourself for granted.

One thought on “Love a lot……Live a lot……..Laugh a lot

  1. Love this and recently have come to the conclusion that I’ll be saying “when I grow up” forever. I used to think our friend aka Peter Pan was immature and just not ready to be an adult (that still may be the case for him) but I think we all need to remember and refind our authentic selves again. The last two weeks I’ve laughed more than I have the last decade. Laughing till my tummy hurt. I look forward to these laughs ahead.

Leave a Reply

